Housemate wanted

Yup, Casa de AccordionGuy needs a new occupant. If you’re in the Toronto area and looking for a place to live, and would like to live with two great guys — one of whom is Toronto’s most fun accordion player ever, perhaps you’d consider moving in chez moi.

The house is historical, but the interior’s been renovated very nicely. The house has been featured in Toronto Life magazine and on the TV show Love By Design (where I was a participant). Simply put, this place is a catch. Here are the details:

  • The room: I’m offering you the largest bedroom in the house. It’s one of the basement rooms, but it’s comfy.

  • The housemates: Me and Paul. If you need to know what I’m like, I suggest you read this blog. Paul and I like to cook, we like having company over and we’ve been known to throw a decent party.

  • Furnished living room, dining room with exposed brick and hardwood floors. Really nice and comfy couches. Decent-sized TV with VCR and DVD with stereo speakers and sub. Dining room has a Parsons table to impress our friends from OCAD, which is nearby. Nice, real art. We could use a new coffee table if you’ve got one.

  • 2 full bathrooms. Nice ones too.

  • Central air, heating and vaccuum. We’re civilised here.

  • High-speed internet. And wireless, too!

  • Decent kitchen. We’ve got a dishwasher, microwave, toaster and slow cooker. We could use an electric kettle if you’ve got one.

  • In-house washer and dryer. Because psych outpatient like to hang out at laundromats and sniff my underwear.

  • Small deck in the back; we have a gas barbecue and a patio set.
  • There’s a garage, but it’s already occupied by Paul’s and my car. The landlord offers bike space.

  • Killer location! Just off Spadina between Dundas and Queen, putting you within walking distance of Chinatown, Kensington Market, Queen West area, Club district, the big Paramount theatre, SkyDome. A slightly longer walk gets you to College West, the Annex, U of T, Eaton Centre. You’re close to transit: Spadina, Dundas and Queen streetcars or just a short walk to St. Patrick or Osgoode stations.

  • Utilities: we pay for electricity and gas, the landlotd pays for water

  • World’s nicest landlords. They also happen to be our next door neighbours.

  • The upstairs neighbours are pretty cool too.

  • The bottom line: $750/month for rent, and we pitch in evenly for utilities and groceries.

We’re looking for either a male or female housemate, non-smoking preferred, who’s reasonably (but not pathologically) tidy. We tend to take turns cooking dinner (we’re both meat eaters), rent DVDs fairly often, go out a fair bit (see the blog) and have friends over. Currently, we both work from home.

Does this sound like the kind of house you’d like to live in? Drop me a line.

Leave a Reply